St Euny Masonic Lodge celebrates 70th anniversary

64ef4678492e90e5bd9ad4f1828dfa42

St Euny Masonic Lodge celebrates 70th anniversary

The St Euny Masonic Lodge celebrated its 70th anniversary earlier this month by holding a service of thanksgiving at the Masonic Hall in Redruth. The service was presided over by the Worshipful Master, Paul Phillips and the officiant was the Rev Dr Peter Blackwell Smythe, the Provincial Chaplain. The St Euny Lodge was originally consecrated by the Earl of St Germans, the Provincial Grand Master; assisted by Canon HR Jennings, deputy Provincial Grand Master. This ceremony took place at the crypt of St Andrews Church in Redruth on May 17, 1945 so the anniversary service took place exactly 70 years to the day. St Euny Lodge was borne out of Druids Lodge, No 589 one of the oldest lodges in Cornwall. Among the invited guests were Cllr Will Tremayne, mayor of Redruth; Cllr Henry Biscoe, deputy mayor of Redruth; Cllr Mars Alison Biscoe, deputy mayoress of Redruth, and Mr Nuno DeFatos, president of Redruth Chamber of Commerce. In his opening address, the Worshipful Master, gave thanks to the founders of the lodge, and recalled the importance of maintaining a link with them even if now it is only a memory. He went on to say how much he and the members were looking forward to the future of Freemasonry especially in Redruth and added that St Euny had been fortunate of late in having a sizeable intake of younger members which augured well for that future. M Phillips the outline the generous giving of the Order in general and Cornish Freemasons in particular by summarising the many millions of pounds donated to non-Masonic organisations, including £50, 000 to the Nepal earthquake via the British Red Cross, and £700 pounds to the Redruth Alzeimer’s Society.

Duke of Edinburgh’s £20,000 grant from the Freemasons to set up challenge for disabled

ab86addbdd5ef673bfaf3bd27888e049

Duke of Edinburgh’s £20,000 grant from the Freemasons to set up challenge for disabled

A pioneering challenge course is set to bring huge benefits to disabled people in Kirklees. The only one of its kind in the north of England, the course has been made possible by a £20,000 grant to the local Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Trust. Freemasons in West Yorkshire have donated the cash to create the facility at Little Deer Wood in Mirfield and both able-bodied and disabled people will be able to access the course. Sponsored by Howley Lodge in Batley, the grant will be used to fund the low-rope challenge course with a wheelchair-accessible path for the disabled to get to this and other facilities at the Little Deer Wood site. The course will be strung beneath trees with a series of linked challenges. It is designed to be environmentally friendly and as no concrete will be used, should last for many years. The ropes, wires and other elements that make up the obstacles are no more than 50cm from the floor but team members must remain off the ground as they negotiate the course. Courses like these are becoming more popular in the UK, but, there are only two which are totally accessible for able-bodied and disabled people.

Visitors gather for rare look inside Hanging Chapel in Langport

a174f6edfe4714c3c7088733207e673f

Visitors gather for rare look inside Hanging Chapel in Langport

A SELECT few lucky visitors to Langport were given a unique insight into one of the town’s most iconic buildings. The Hanging Chapel, which is managed by the Langport Town Trust, opened its doors to a group of 30 visitors on Saturday afternoon. The chapel was constructed in the early-14th century and was originally known as the Chantry of the Blessed Mary of Langport Eastover. Over the centuries, the chapel has performed many different roles within the town, serving as the town hall between 1547 and 1600. Since 1891 it has fulfilled its current role, as the home to the Portcullis Freemasons Lodge, which meets there every second Thursday evening of the month. Former lodge master Robert Webb was on hand to guide visitors around and to answer questions about the chapel’s history. The chapel, which is Grade 1 listed, contains many fine examples of traditional stained glass.